Family Fudge Recipe

I did it!  I finally did it!!!  I was able to successfully make fudge using an old family recipe.  (So old that the copy I have calls for a ‘large wood spoon’ full of cocoa.  Don’t worry, I have actual measurements to share.)  I’m embarrassed to say that I’ve been trying and failing for years, but the memory of it was sooooo good I could not give up.  So I’m here to share along with the tips I used to make the perfect fudge. 🙂

Grandpa Bedford’s Fudge

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tbsp cocoa
  • 1 cup milk

Heat over MEDIUM heat stirring until all ingredients are well blended.  ***I use a large pan that is the actual size of my burner.  Not sure if it’s important, but that’s what I did and it turned out.  Also be sure to use medium heat.  You have to be patient because it takes some time for it to come up to a boil.

Once it starts to boil DO NOT STIR.  This is very important and has to do with the breaking down of the sugar or something… not sure, just don’t stir.  It will come to a rolling boil and rise up in the pan.  Then it will start to come down.  By this time your house will smell heavenly.

After 20-22 minutes of boiling, you can do the ‘cold water ball’ test to see if it’s ready for the remaining ingredients.  ***This is the trick to being successful so pay attention!  Add a few drops of the boiling mixture to a small bowl of cold water.  Scoop out the mixture with your fingers and if you can roll it into a ball and squish it between your fingers and then roll it back into a ball without it being sticky/mushy, it’s ready.  Mine has been ready at 26 minutes both times, but I start testing at 22 minutes because if you miss this perfect ‘cold water ball’ test mixture, the whole batch will be ruined.

Once you have passed the cold water ball test, remove from heat and stir in remaining ingredients.  ***I have the remaining ingredients ready because you need to do this part quickly.

  • 1 tbsp butter (room temp)
  • 1 rounded tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Stir together until blended and immediately pour into buttered 8×8 pan.

The original recipe calls for double the ingredients to make a full size batch.  I just halved everything because with all my failed attempts, I was wasting so much sugar.

Once it cools, enjoy!  This isn’t ‘creamy’ fudge.  It has a ‘sugary’ texture.  The sooner you pass the cold water ball test and finish it up, the more moist the fudge.  But be warned, if you pull it off the heat too soon, you will have to enjoy it with a spoon because it will not harden.  Although speaking from personal experience, it tastes pretty good with a spoon, too.  And I’ve heard lots of folks say they use failed unhardened fudge as an ice cream topping.

So let me know if you try it and if you get fudge, or something else. 😉

4 thoughts on “Family Fudge Recipe

  1. conniemelancon

    Look’s just like my mom’s! Same ingredients too! Like I mentioned in previous post only thing she did different is once it passed the cold water ball test she had cold water in sink (enough to cover maybe 1/4 to 1/2 inch of pot) and then she added the last ingredients and stirred (praying it did not get hard in the pot–even though we loved fighting over the pot with our spoons) and poored on buttered plates. I will have to make some soon!!! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

