Hunger Games Inspired Paper Bead Necklace

Are you excited to see “The Hunger Games” movie this weekend?  I am!  So excited that when Lead Fiskateer Angela Daniels asked if I wanted to make a ‘Hunger Games’ inspired project, I knew exactly what I wanted to make before I could respond “Yes!”

These are paper beads and honestly, they are so easy to make.  The hardest part was waiting for the UTEE to melt in my melting pot.  I chose my paper colors based on the book; the green one is to symbolize the lush green of the forest where the games took place, the orange beads are for Katniss, “the girl who was on fire” and the black beads are for District 12.

Once you have your papers, cut long (8-10″) triangle strips.  The width of the paper at the ‘wide’ end is how wide your bead will end up being.  (I kept my beads at around 1” each.)  Roll each strip around a pencil, glue the end down, and dip it in melted UTEE.   (I used a melting pot, but you can also use a heat gun or glossy accents.)    While the UTEE on the black beads was still wet, I sprinkled glitter over them.  Once it cooled, a little, I pressed the glitter in.

Now that the beads are done, it’s time for the focal point.  The Mockingjay is one of Fiskars limited edition Jenni Bowlin punches (actually called ‘Flight‘).  I used my punch on gold glitter paper and dipped it in the UTEE.  Then I dipped part of the orange bead back in the UTEE and while it was still wet, I pressed the Mockingjay into the wet UTEE.  Be sure to use tweezers for this step if you don’t want to get burned.  Once it is cooled, the Mockingjay is sealed into position.

Do you like it?  Will you make one to wear this weekend?  Need a Mockingjay punch of your own?  Be sure to leave a comment here because Angela will be sending one random winner their very own Fiskars limited edition Jenni Bowlin Flight squeeze punch.  Thanks, Fiskateers!

Good luck, and ‘may the odds be ever in your favor.’

41 thoughts on “Hunger Games Inspired Paper Bead Necklace

  1. Patty Cutino

    wow this is really cool and never thought to make a necklace with UTEE but I will certainly try this now. wow thanks for the ideas…

    Reply
  2. Denise Scott

    That necklace turned out awesome!! I love the colors and how you put it all together… but let me tell you, that punch ROCKS!!!

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  3. Carol N

    Love this. Won’t hve time to do any crafting before the weekend, but will have to try those beads soon. Great job, KJ.

    Reply
  4. Misty Ramsey

    Kelly Jo I love your Hunger Games necklace. I fell in love with the books just a couple of weeks ago after a friend suggested them and I ended up reading all three books in a matter of about 3 days. I just couldn’t put them down. The fiskars punch makes an awesome mocking jay and I love the paper beads. I have made them in the past but forgot how easy and fun they could be. Thanks for the wonderful project idea.

    Reply
  5. Patty Williams

    Ha -tricky place to put the comment button ! LOL

    We loved The Hunger GAmes ! Chloe read it a couple of summers ago for a class and got me hooked!

    Cute necklace, I haven’t tried the paper beads in a long time. I have UTEE and the melting pot and have yet to use it !

    Reply
    1. Kelly Jo Post author

      Hi, Emily. I tried to take of pic, but it didn’t turn out. You will have to trust me that I had on both my earrings and necklace. Thank you for visiting and commenting on my blog. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Rhonda

    Kelly, that rocks! I saw a Japanese woman create the most beautiful paper beads that looked like glass when their comleted. You totally have it. It’s quite an art!

    Reply
  7. Lesa #5200

    Wow! That necklace is beautiful! I’m going to give it a try–but will have to make a few substitutions : ) Thanks, KJ!

    Reply
  8. Gail H.

    Love the colors and that punch is awesome….really helps make the necklace pop! I might just have to try making one of those. Thanks for the idea and chance to win the punch!!

    Reply
  9. Suzi #5563

    Although I know nothing about the books or movies, I know I like your necklace. Paper beads are on my to-do list! You inspire me! TFS!

    Reply
  10. mjmarmo

    I am out of the loop because I have not read these books yet. But, I love this necklace! That bird punch worked perfectly! I so need to get some Utee!!!

    Reply
  11. Amy Jones

    ok…I have to say OHHHH MYYYYY GOOOOODness…..I saw this on the fiskateer site. and it is so great. I got here and read your blog and wow. Made from paper. So neat. The beads look like ceramic beads. I dont have a flight (mockingjay) punch and would love to win one for sure. Thanks so much for sharing how you made your necklace. I will have to try this.

    Reply
  12. TracyM #6773

    Fabulous necklace Kelly Jo – LOVE your beads and sparkly bird!!!

    Don’t have any UTEE but would love to give these beads a try, so will see what I can do using my stash 🙂

    Reply
  13. DebbieC.#4668

    Very cool necklace Kelly Jo. I had to look a few times at those beads because they sure don’t look like paper. Great job.

    Reply
  14. Beth W

    I really have to give this a try.Your photo shows how gorgeous the beads are-kudos on the photography.It’s the best shot of paper beads I’ve seen.Now I understand the interest.

    Reply
    1. Kelly Jo Post author

      Thanks for the compliment, Beth. I tried a few set ups, but the best lighting in my house for pics is the bathroom. 🙂

      Reply
  15. Kelly Sas

    I am embarrassed to say that I never heard about the Hunger Games until I saw a commercial. BUT I do love your necklace, the paper beads idea AND it would make a great necklace for a Fiskateer to wear with those colors! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the great idea!

    Reply
  16. Christine C

    I have only seen the movie shorts for the Hunger Games and don’t know any more than that but it seems like I need to see the movie. I love your necklace.

    Reply
  17. Cathy P

    I am lucky enough to know KellyJo and she has generously lent me this georgeous necklace to wear for an interview tomorrow!! Can’t wait to see the accessories!

    Reply
  18. Marianne #6701

    Kelly Jo,

    Your necklace turned out great! I have not read the Hunger Games, but you and Angela have me wondering! Hope things are going well for you. It was great to see that you have been on the message board recently! Always love to see you smiling face!

    Reply
  19. Barb Vandenberg

    Your necklace turned out great! hmmm aren’t orange and green fiskateers colors too ? 😉

    Loved the books… will eventually get to the movie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

